Writing my query letter…

Or, more accurately, reading everything I can find on how to write a query letter. This has actually been a lot of fun, and I am learning a lot. The art of the query letter is both completely subjective and strictly conformist.

Hmmm…so I have been reading query letters that have worked, and query letters that haven’t. My favorite reading has been Query Shark, that blog is amazing. People send their query letters in, and the query shark, literary agent Janet Reid tears them to pieces. She then helps them to write better letters. Sometimes.

Sometimes there’s really no hope for the letter and it’s pretty funny.

I have learned a ton, just from reading her entire blog and I’ve put into practice what I am learning. I still haven’t created the perfect query letter, but I feel it’s getting close!

Leave a Reply

