I’d planned on finishing my “who am I” from a few weeks ago today, but that is going to have to wait because I am feeling drawn, no…compelled to write about a particular problem I have seen one too many times.

WRITERS GROUPS

And why they kinda, sometimes, seriously, suck.

As you know, or should know, have you been paying attention? lol I have been working on my horrible, no good, very bad synopsis. It’s crazy hard trying to condense a 90.000+ manuscript into 1000ish words. CRAZY HARD. It has not been my favorite thing. I’ve whittled my monster down to 1200ish words, and while I think it has a lot of potential, I know I need fresh eyes on it to get it all beautified so an agent will find it irresistible.

Well, I posted that in a writers group I recently joined. I said basically the same thing. That I needed help with my synopsis, any tips or advice on how to get fresh eyes on it was welcomed. What I got (amongst the welcoming but sadly not helpful comments) was one chick commenting, was she the only person that writes the book before looking for an agent. About 6 people chimed in on her comment with versions of the same question.  To this I said, Huh? or more accurately, I said, “why would anyone assume I hadn’t finished my novel? Then she told me not to get offended because she was talking about other people in the group. In a direct comment on my post, but ooookkkkk.

Two others kindly gave me links on how to write a query letter. (did they even read??) It’s worth noting here that one of those was the chick that commented about finishing the novel before finding an agent. Mmm Hmm

Still one more, (after I clarified for everyone that book was done, query letter also done, just needing help to polish synopsis) asked me if I was looking for beta readers for my query letter! I asked her if she was making a joke, but no, she was seriously asking. I said no, thank you I am not looking for beta readers, I just need help with my synopsis.

What followed was your basic troll fest as people became incredibly offended, as I tried to explain what I was looking for. I finally gave up and left the group after the woman I though was joking told me “Dude, you’re asking for beta readers.” Then she called me rude when I responded with, “Dude, wrong, I am looking for help critiquing my synopsis.”

I gave up. It was clearly not the group for me.

It’s sad too, some of the people were quite nice. One offered cheesecake.

This is the second time I’ve left a writers group, last time was for similar reasons. Maybe it’s me?

computer_rage_02.08.2009

6 thoughts on “”

  1. Writers groups are very strange, especially the online type. I’ve tried to not let one or two people ruin one for me, but you can’t help flinching every time a person like that posts something. (I’ve catalogued the visceral reactions, for future book research; blood pressure, skin tingling, posture tightens, etc…) I expect a safe place in a writing group, so it’s a shock when it turns into trolling.
    You are probably smart for leaving. Plenty of fish in the sea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I tried just sticking it out, after all I didn’t want to quit the group right after joining. But it just got ridiculous. I too expect it to be a safe place, or at the very least one where people read the question before answering! :p

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s weird, isn’t it? You would think people would want to help and celebrate with like minded people, but so often it is the other way ’round. Sad and frustrating. Congrats on your milestone! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

